Broad-scope conference encompassing all aspects of rare earths (Sc, Y, lanthanides) and actinides science. Under the guidance of the European Rare Earth and Actinide Society, ERES (

Previous ICFE conferences were held in: Leuven (Belgium, 1990), Helsinki (Finland (1994), Paris (France, 1997), Madrid (Spain, 2000), Geneva (Switzerland, 2003), Wroclaw (Poland, 2006), Köln (Germany, 2009), Udine (Italy, 2012) & Oxford (U.K., 2015).

Plenary lecturer Jin Dayong gets the 2017 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year (Australia) “For creating new technologies to image the process of life”!

Professor Koen Binnemans (KU Leuven) is awarded the 7th LeCoq de Boisbaudran award “For his work on solvometallurgy of rare earths”

Professor Matteo Cargnello (Stanford) is awarded the 6th Junior award “For his work on cerium oxide supported metal catalysts”

Professor Suzanne Bart, co-chair of the session “Catalysis & reactivity” has been appointed associate editor by Inorganic Chemistry